Ni Hao, Mandarin!

I actually enrolled in a Mandarin Class from May to July this year after finding a promo thru ensogo.  A language course at Languages Internationale in Makati usually costs around 9k + and I got the deal for about 3k – a great reason for me not to pass on this dream to study a foreign language.  It’s one of the items listed in My 50 Dreams, and I’ve been long waiting.

It’s not as originally planned though, since I wanted to master speaking Bonjour and Konnichiwa before.  It just happened that before I saw the promo on the internet, I’ve been hearing and watching stories about China.  Now it’s included in the top 5 countries I like to eventually visit.  A friend also mentioned that learning Mandarin will be very useful when I travel in Asia.  There are Filipino-Chinese here in the country who speaks the language, too.

COMMERCIAL: photo of miniature chinese temple taken at LEGO Christmas Exhibit, SM North The Block atrium.  Check out their giant Christmas tree and other sites around the world made up of LEGO blocks until January 12, 2012.  Onsite purchase of mini Sta Claus and Christmas tree legos will benefit World Vision foundation.

So I attended the class three hours every Saturday for two months and felt like a college student again, with all the assignments, recitations and group exercises.  This time, however,  I did not graduate with flying colors.  Work demands led me to come in school not having done my homework – and for a couple of times I was late because of weekend work related- events I have to attend to.  I’m not grumbling about work.  I just didn’t know that learning a language would mean requiring your attention, and this much focus, and even nights of staying up to review which I can’t afford that time.

My seatmate Raul was one of the top students in the class.  He works as an engineer in Sta Rosa and even travels from Laguna to Makati every Saturday.  “Why did you sign-up for the class, Raul.”  I learned that he wanted to go to Singapore eventually – to work there.  He seems to have a high paying job here in a stable industrial firm, but I wouldn’t question his reason for wanting to move out of the country. I understand why he is more motivated to study than I am.

My teacher’s name by the way is Rico Yan, which made it easy for me to remember since he has the same name with a late Pinoy actor.  He somehow reminded me of my dad, which made it easier for me to learn.  Well, sometimes almost all stout men with chinky eyes remind me of him.  (Tatay, I really miss you).  I still remember my dad’s Chinese book which he used to study so he can get good bargains at Divisoria and Escolta.  When I was little, mom and dad has a mini-grocery store and negotiating with suppliers, mostly Chinese will be of help.  I don’t know where his book is now, but I just bought the same copy for self-study this year.

 Wo jiao Jonah.  Wo shir Feilubinren.  Wo shuo Yingwon, Feiwon, yidian Riwon, Fawon. Wo xi huan chir yidalimien!

I am Jonah.  I am a Filipino.  I speak English and Filipino, a little Japanese and French.  I love to eat spaghetti.

 Now I have to learn to speak and write more than just this sentence.  I don’t know yet exactly how I will find Mandarin useful right now – but in the future, I know I’ll be very good at this.  Even Japanese and French!

referrals:

www.ensogo.com.ph  I’ve already bought some stuff here.  Credit card faclitiy seems safe, but I prefer bank deposit transactions for security purposes.

www.languagesinternationale.net A pioneer language school in Metro Manila, established since 1965.

2 thoughts on “Ni Hao, Mandarin!

  1. athramfontelera says:

    Hello Jonah! I’ve always been wanting to study spanish for so long now. And I’m looking for a great language school to study the language. I want to ask how was the program in languages internationale? Could you really learn the language in just 30 hour or 60 hour program? I hope you could tell me more about your experience. Thanks!

    • Jonah says:

      Hi! Im sorry for replying just now. I’d love to recommend Languages Internationale. The professors they usually assign to teach specific languages speak in the native dialect. My teacher then was raised in China and is fluent in English too. Im sure they can find you a good Spanish teacher. Yes you can learn the program in 30-60 hours as long as you do your homework. Be sure to chat with someone who speaks Spanish too outside the language school to practice what you learn.

Write a comment

