One Burnt Light

How’s your new year?  I hope you enjoyed watching some fireworks last night. 
How about your Christmas celebration?  Are your Christmas trees still lighted at this time? 
 
We didn’t have a Christmas tree this year – but my mom made sure colored lights are hanging on our windows.   My Christmas eve was spent with a simple thanksgiving dinner.  Not that plenty of dish served on our table.   Our plan to watch fireworks from Luneta park did not push thru either.  My brother just stepped outside the house and enjoyed the view of fireworks lit by our neighbors.  The holiday celebration for us was simple, yet my mother always reminded her three kids to have a thankful heart. 
 
I recently browsed thru a 10-seconder story from Paulo Coelho’s blog and I want to share this for us to reflect on this first day of the year.  Remember that nomatter the imperfection and challenges we will face in this earth, the lives of those who trust our Maker will still be seen as an orchestra of lights thru the eyes of heaven. 
 
***
10 Seconder Reading: My Wife and The Burnt Light
by Paulo Coelho. Posted December 30, 2011 at paulocoelhoblog.com
 
On Christmas Eve, my wife and I were reflecting on the year that was nearly ending, whilst dining at a restaurant.
 
I started to complain about something that hadn’t happened the way I wanted it to.

My wife focused her attention on a Christmas tree that embellished the place.
I thought that she wasn’t interested in the conversation, so I changed the subject:

“This tree has a beautiful illumination”, I said.

“Yes, but if you look carefully you can see one burnt light among dozens.It seems to me that instead of thinking of this year as dozens of enlightened blessings, you chose to look at the one light that did not glow.”

Note: I’ll always remember the story of the burnt light and how Paulo Coelho himself replied to my comment to repost his blog. It still makes me smile today.  XD. 

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE 

and let’s keep that POSITIVE ATTITUDE throughout the year:-)

 

 

Write a comment

