Charity Bazaar: Mata Expo 2012

Mata Expo 2012 – Manila was a success last February 4, 2012 at the World Trade Center participated by hundreds of participants and exhibitors supporting a cause.

MATA EXPO is an international social-media enterprise expo aiming to provide opportunities for corporations, organizations, and individuals with multicultural aspects “diversity” to promote their services / products to thousands of people.  ‘MATA’ means ‘See you again” in japanese language and “Eyes” in tagalog language. Mata is a symbolic word “visual concept + small world” in the pubic society.

 MATA EXPO supports expanding the Multicultural Awareness in the public society.  Filipino deaf and mute were also invited in the event by TSND Incorporated to share with them a new technology called Video Relay System that will translate words thru sign languages shown in video.

Being in the event reminded me of my elementary days wherein for two-years as an accelerated student, I shared the same building with other students taking Special Education.  This is how I learned the alphabet in sign language, and even other common gestures.

By the way, Hello to my friends from IV-V to V-VI FL 😉 

I also enjoyed the bazaar though I had limited time (and money) to shop that day.There were various products from exhibitor, one that instantly caught my attention were handwoven bags by Husay Pinay.  Ate Elsa and her team gladly shared with me how these ladies on the photos themselves train other women from communities to become entrepreneurs.  email: sikapbuhay@quezoncity.gov.ph for more info on Husay Pinay.

I have explored other products from Asia when I approached “Little Saigon”. Their candle holders and wine holders are great gift suggestions.  A set of 4-chopsticks at P610 can be a nice give-away for your friends after your dinner treat for them (Which reminds me of my fast approaching birthday!) visit www.littlesaigonmanila.com or www.facebook.com/littlesaigonmanila

If you’re within Makati area and would love to have a shop to take care of your pet’s needs (food, supplies, accessories), Mike of SEDA’s store is just along Brgy. Sta Cruz.  Visit www.scarpetstore.webnode.com or email sccarpetstore@gmail.com

I found some more souvenir and gift items from Hanakoubou.  I regret not buying one pouch for my sister Aki since she absolutely loved the photo I showed her.  For those into events or looking for wedding souvenir items, you may contact Hanakoubou at 0915-1899595.

Congratulations to the event organizers (Ms. Diana Banas and Kat Taylor) and Quezon City Vice Mayor Joy Belmonte for one successful and inspiring event!

Write a comment

