Dreams and Falling Stars

When I was a kid, I look forward to going out of the house at night to look for stars and connect them as if they were dots creating pictures.  What excites me more is if I would encounter a falling star.  Seeing one rarely happens to me now that I’m a grown-up (well, still young at heart) but I would remember falling stars to have visited me often during my childhood.  It was said to me that you have to make a wish each time you see one – and I did whisper those wishes quick before it disappears from my sight.

My Wishes

I could recall two wishes I uttered each time I see that falling star – to be rich, and to be famous.  Now that’s so vague, and broad aint it?  I bet thousands of kids would have the same desire as I did.  How rich.. or how famous, and famous in what field.. that I didn’t know.  At a young age I didn’t know the value of being specific and declaring the details.  But at least I had the courage to be honest with my heart back then, something that I feel to have forgotten.  Being rich and famous won’t be on my top list if you ask me what I want in life right now.  My answer won’t be as quick… I would pause, like what I’m doing now and figure what is it I want. 

We grow great by dreams. All big men are dreamers. They see things in the soft haze of a spring day or in the red fire of a long winter’s evening. Some of us let these great dreams die, but others nourish and protect them; nurse them through bad days till they bring them to the sunshine and light which comes always to those who sincerely hope that their dreams will come true.

– Woodrow Wilson

My Dreams

My dreams when I was a child are as consistent as my wishes.  These are clear pictures of my aspirations which I surprisingly have at a young age.  I always tell about my dream of being part of an army, called to a mission and training new recruits for battle to my former students.  As early as six or seven, I would imagine myself as a leader working alongside with a team who are also my friends.  Each time I work with a team, lead or train people, I look back to my childhood dream and tell myself: hey, despite the struggles, this was your dream and there’s always reason to be thankful  (Not with super powers and in a battle field, though).

‎Without dreams, there can be no courage. And without courage, there can be no action.– Wim Wenders

To Catch A Falling Star

The other night while I was sleeping, I dreamt of falling stars – plenty of them before my sight!  No wish from me this time, did not make any.  I just enjoyed the view.

I heard from a friend recently that his dream is to witness other people accomplish their dreams,.  I can relate with him when I recalled the feeling of watching falling stars without whispering wishes for myself but rather appreciating the site imagining that others are busy speaking their hopes to those stars.  Sometimes people would need to come to a point of selflessness to find what they are called to do or to become.

We all have our own life to pursue, our own kind of dream to be weaving. And we all have some power to make wishes come true, as long as we keep believing. – Louisa May Alcott

Now the next photo tells about my dreams and goals…  these are what makes my faith exciting and I leave it upto my Creator how we will both accomplish these 😉

For it is God Himself whose power creates within you the desire to do His gracious will and also brings about the accomplishment of the desire – Philippians 2:13

Now it’s past my bedtime and I have to wake up early for work tomorrow 🙂  I hope all of you who reads this will experience a piece of dream come true.  Good night!

One thought on “Dreams and Falling Stars

Write a comment

