To Trust Him is to Love Him (Part1)

1

Jasmine did not share a magic carpet ride with a stranger.  He saw in the eyes of Prince Aladdin the commoner whom he trusted in the marketplace. His invitations were words from the hero who rescued her.

Familiar

Have you met a person who resembles someone you know from the past? And somehow because of that resemblance it was easy to get along with him or her?  It may not be the physical attributes but it the way he speaks or acts which remind you of someone.

The older and wiser you grow, the more you will realize that this world is filled with people who are familiar.  What I meant by that is, people you meet will always have someone whom you can “connect them with”.  And this can give you either a feeling of ease or disgust depending on who you remember by being with them.

Seeing someone as “familiar” is a ground to be used not to judge but to connect.  To connect means, at a certain level to trust that we can open up ourselves with the person in front of us. Often, we call it “instinct” if we have to select who to trust or not but that is often associated with a past experience with someone or something.

Back in college, I have this subject Broadcast Communication in which 90% of my classmates failed. It is a major subject that we have to at least pass if we’re looking at applying in the future for jobs in media networks.  The whole class would agree that our professor back then has a high standard.  He won’t teach us what we have to learn but give us questions that we should have researched in advance.  He will then call us randomly one by one when he comes in class and ask us to recite and discuss about a certain topic.  He was a terror teacher to some.  Despite this, I have a secret why I’m actually the student who got the highest grade in his class.  I go to the library and really study not just because I’m a scholar and I had to maintain a good mark.  My professor back then looked like my dad.  And that was the simple reason which motivated me to excel in his subject.

From connection to trust

To trust someone familiar is easier than someone you do not know.  Trust is also strengthened by a connection between two individuals, and this grows over time.

Trust can either be based on knowledge or faith and it’s up to you to balance which weighs more in making an action or a decision.  There were times when I have acted on knowledge, mostly in my profession.  My line of work trained me to rely on statistics, market research, feasibility studies and income projection before I venture on a campaign or project.  There were occasions when I stepped out in faith – whether to approach someone which eventually turns out to be a key person who can give me a good deal.  It pays to learn how to use both strategies.

However, the secret to trusting for me is not the knowledge I have or much faith on something I perceive to happen.  I give my trust to a person – not to something or some idea.  Sometimes, this person has to be God, or myself, or a lover.  Trust is just anchored in relationships.

1 thought on “To Trust Him is to Love Him (Part1)

Write a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close