From Siam w/ Love:Speed Dating Photos

From Siam with Love, a speed dating night organized by Telu Events last August 9, 2014 was a success!  Congratulations to the Irene, Darika and Maiah (event organizers) for putting up a fun activity. Yes, yes,, i was there.. and here’s my story XD..

Meet the ladies behind Telu: Irene, Darika and Maiah. Cheers!
Meet the ladies behind Telu: Irene, Darika and Maiah. Cheers!

I came in to cover the event for my blog that night not knowing a surprise awaits me – I ended up being one of the speed dating participants!  I wasn’t ‘dressed in a dress’ and was less lady-like as the rest of the girls but of course, you know me… I was game for anything and gave it a shot.   Besides,I am a qualified single who is free to join.  As expected, there are awesome guys (and ladies) I met during the night.  Their identities are a secret .

We are given 5 minutes to talk to each of participants from the opposite gender.  If we ran out of conversation topics there are cards with random questions faced down on our tables which we can pick.  My favorite ones were: “If you were an ice cream flavor, what will you be?” and “What will you do if you one a million  from the lottery.”

15 ladies and 11 gentlemen attended the event
Fifteen ladies and eleven gentlemen attended the event. Everyone was awesome!
Bangkok Cafe at Pearl Drive Ortigas was the perfect venue for the Thai themed event
Bangkok Cafe at Pearl Drive Ortigas was the perfect venue for the Thai themed event
During breaks, Darika will ask trivia questions. Freebies are given away for participants who answer correctly.
During breaks, Darika will ask trivia questions and freebies are given away for participants who answer correctly. Thanks to the sponsors! XD

I am no newbie in speed dating but it seems I haven’t mastered the art of making guys comfortable when we talk yet.  Come on, I didn’t give them a hard time but there are still awkward silent moments with some. I still find 5 minutes too short to arrive at a common interest to discuss.

Oh well, “you can’t please everybody” is a rule that still applies.  However, confidence in who you are is still key.  Everyone has their own “type”, and if love springs from events like this, that is just a BONUS!  By the way, i learned that there was a successful couple from the first batch of speed daters (I attended batch 3). That is good news, right?

A week after the event, I received my matches!  I was excited to know who among the guys I liked are also interested.  Of course, I won’t be gossiping about them here.  One thing in common among the gents is how easily it was to find a shared interest with them.   Haha, the ball is now on their hands!

xxx

Organizers with bloggers Jonah Chipeco (Flaring Felicity) and Pepi De Leon of kampeonngpagibig.com/
Organizers with bloggers Jonah Chipeco (Flaring Felicity) and Pepi De Leon of kampeonngpagibig.com/

Keep posted about speed dating events in Manila organized by Telu events through subscribing to teluevents.blogspot.com.  Also visit Pepi De Leon’s blog www.kampeonngpagibig.com

Write a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close