Book Review: Summer Feels – A Romance Anthology

It’s a Saturday afternoon, I thought about relaxing after uploading photos to my online store almost the whole day.  I like downloading e-books and keeping them on my tablet whenever I have time to read; most of them are self-help and motivational.  But this time, I’m opening a romance anthology for a change.

Don’t get me wrong.  I still have fun with role play games and video apps with romantic plots.  I guess I just become more visual when digesting stories.  Reaching out for my e-book “Summer Feels, A Romance Class Anthology” made me hesitant for a moment because it doesn’t have any pictures aside from the cover (hehe).  But some titles among the 23-stories listed caught my attention.  So I began to read while resting on my bed and thought maybe starting will actually make me more excited.

***

The line up of stories opened with “All About That Bass” by Fay Sebastian.  Noticing the plot about a musical group audition, it got me hooked because of my former fascination with Glee.  The struggle of the main character, Erika Torres, about having a secret crush is also relatable among ladies including me.

 

all about that bass

Preview: “All About That Bass” by Fay Sebastian

Erika Torres is determined to join her university’s acapella guild to pursue her passion and to discover what fate has in store for her broken heart.  All the times she’s crossed paths with the guild’s bass leader Liam Lorenzo has made her think about the possibility of falling in love again. But with the scars of the past and the guild captain making it difficult for her to spend time with Liam, Erika must decide if the blind jump off the cliff of love is a risk her heart can take.

About the Author: Fay Sebastian

Fay is a speech communication student who writes even on the busiest of days because writing prevents her from turning into a college zombie. Why she holds writing instruments in an odd way will always be a mystery to the world. To learn more about this author and for updates on new releases, visit her blog, faysebastian.wordpress.com.

My Review:

Reading the story made my mind wander back in time during college days where I also had a secret crush.  Funny that even while I’m thirty-one (gosh, I revealed my age), I still feel kilig over the ice cream-eating scene with Liam.  On a personal note, any guy who will take me to an ice cream parlor for a date will get some bonus brownie points.

Erika’s character is consistent though I’m looking for more depth about Liam.  I’m still wondering why he reacted that way after finding out Erika likes her.  Will a seemingly confident guy to distance himself after knowing that the woman he likes feels the same?  (I don’t want to be a spoiler, you can read the book for the rest of the story). Perhaps.  But I need to ask my guy friends about that.

For “All About That Bass” here are my ratings:

Character 3.  Plot 3.  Writing Style 3.  Coherence 3.  Ending 3.  Kilig Moments: 4

I added “kilig moments” in the consideration for rating romance stories because I want to feel happy and giddy when reading one.  The plot may be familiar but ladies can easily get attracted with Liam and find Erika as cute.  If I’ll produce this as a local movie, I’ll probably pair up Xian Lim as Liam and Nadine Lustre as Erika.  Wait, they both can’t sing well. Pwede naman lipsynch.

 

 

***

Now that I gained momentum, I went back to the list of stories to find what I can read next.  I jumped to the title “Flying With You”.  It made me interested because my boyfriend is studying to become a pilot.  I was curious if there were flight scenes in the story.  And so fingers started to turn the pages.

flying with you

Preview: “Flying with You” by Rachelle Belaro

All that Arci ever wanted was to visit Lake Sebu with her friends. When they backed out at the last minute, she was forced to continue her trip alone. Then she met Blue Shirt Guy, and she kept bumping into him. He became her impromptu travel buddy . . . and maybe a summer fling.  Will the way he holds her hand tight be enough to turn this something into a real relationship? Or is it just a fleeting summer encounter?

About the Author: Rachelle Belaro

Rachelle is a published author of Pop Fiction, an imprint of Summit Books. She chooses to watchKdramas over writing stories, which makes it difficult for her to finish a chapter. If daydreaming were a profession, she could have made a great career in it.  To learn more about this author, visit her blog rachellebelaro.wordpress.com.

My Review:

Walang airplane scenes. Hehehe.  Only zipline. But I like the the zip line scene a lot because it reminded me of myself and my boyfriend, Erick.  I’m scared of heights (since birth!) like Arci.  And Erick, like Kyle in the story, is just having fun with me when we recently went in for a zip line ride in Palawan.

I found myself laughing out loud in my room whenever Arci reacts to her encounters with the blue-shirt-guy, Karl.  I imagine how she talks herself out of trusting a stranger right away while being attracted at the same time.  If I was in her shoes – single and alone in an escapade, I might be a skeptic but eventually give in, too.  Especially when she describes him as freakin’ hot!

On the other hand,  Kyle is the quiet and mysterious guy with a charming smile every girl would fall for.   His personality matches with Arci.  Hindi sila tao, bagay sila.

What I like best about Flying With You (aside from Arci’s expressions) is how the writer gives a picturesque description of the setting for the readers.  I actually want to go to Lake Sebu, after reading the story!

For “Flying With You” here are my ratings:

Character 4.  Plot 3.  Writing Style 4.  Coherence 4.  Ending 3.  Kilig Moments: 4

***

About Summer Feels:

Summer loving happens so fast, as you’ll find with Summer Feels, an anthology of 23 stories of love under the summer sun by #romanceclass authors. Savor the candied thrill of firsts—first loves, first kisses, first solo vacations—and the bittersweet triumph of second chances. Tour the Philippines as the stories take you to mountain retreats and island paradises. Let the magic of the hot sun, clear blue skies, and lots of love take you on a roller coaster ride of feels. With stories ranging from sweet to sexy, there’s sure to be something for any fan of romance.

summer-feels-blog-tour-fb-post-share-image

Featuring stories by:

Elea Andrea Almazora • Erleen Alvarez • Ella Banta • Rachelle Belaro • H. Bentham • Halina Cabrera • Charlie Dio • Mina V. Esguerra • Elizabeth Galit • Georgette S. Gonzales • Ami Granada • Irene Jurado • Catherine Lo • Arlene Manocot • Bianca Mori • Eris Peñaluna • Farrah F. Polestico • Kit Salazar • Miel Salva • Fay Sebastian • Kate Sebastian • Yeyet Soriano • Marian Tee

***

P.S. I ‘ll publish another post next week about an interview with the author of “Flying With You”, Ms. Rachelle Belaro.  Subscribe here on the blog or comment on this post if you’d like to get an update.

 

Write a comment

